Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode sixteen | Tini Howard, part two
4
0:00
-38:29

IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode sixteen | Tini Howard, part two

Chapter 88: She’ll die before she’ll tell you anything!
4

WELCOME BACK TO IDEAS DON’T BLEED!

We did it! Episode (Sweet) 16!

This week, we’re joined once again by Tini Howard (Catwoman / Excalibur) as we discuss her career, her process, and her new Substack series PHENOMENOCITY!

IDB is an all-new weekly podcast presented by Ashcan Press and featuring Matthew Rosenberg, the Supple Boiz, and wonderful guests from the world of comic books!

Our theme song is “Where’s the Poison” by Summer People.

Enjoy!

Hello there!

And greetings from the other side of 2023! We made it. It was touch and go there for… well, for most of it really. But here we are. Mostly alive and ready to fight the good fight.

Here is the second part of our chat with the great Tini Howard. Some of you may have watched it when it was our livestream, and if you didn’t but want to see our pretty faces, you still can watch it on our Youtube channel. So many options! I had a ton of fun talking with Tini. Not only is she an old friend and a writer whose work I love, but she also has an attitude and spirit that is evident in both her work and her life that I find really inspiring. So I figured a chat with her was a great way to start off the new year so it can can all be downhill from here.

I was hoping to do a year-end wrap-up post and finish my little tour diary last week, but deadlines and the holidays and life stuff all crashed into me at once, so we’re running a bit behind. I will say that I had a nice X-Mas with my family and a nice quiet New Year’s in the comfort of my living room watching movies, rereading Brian K. Vaughan and Marcos Martín’s brilliant PRIVATE EYE, and drinking sparkling apple cider. It wasn’t exactly this vibe, but it wasn’t not this vibe either.

“Hi honey! How’s Boston?”

I will say that I have never been a big fan of parties or large group gatherings. And now, a few years into a plague, with me being a rapidly aging Straight Edger with little faith in public transit and too many books to read and write, the idea of doing anything other than walking in Central Park for New Year’s seemed kind of abysmal to me. And it was raining so that was off. But a great book, a great movie, and some apple juice with bubbles is all I really need in life, so it was nice. I hope that whatever you were doing you found the time to have some moments of peace and fun for yourself. And if not, that’s okay. There’s no time limit on that. Do it now.

What I did not do is really take any real time off over the holidays, which is not ideal for my brain maybe, but it’s nice for you if you like CONTENT™. So you can rest assured, we have some cool stuff coming your way in the coming year. New WHAT’S THE FURTHEST PLACE FROM HERE?, new JOKER and WILDC.A.T.S., new episodes of IDEAS DON’T BLEED, and of course lots of new Ashcan Press projects which you will be hearing about here very soon!

Anyway, that’s it for now. Thanks for sticking around the past year. I promise this one is going to be wild!


Stay safe. Take care of each other. Remember, it’s okay to break some of your resolutions.

-Matthew Rosenberg

NYC 1/2/23

Share Ashcan Press Comics Corporation

Our Webstore

Our Youtube

Our Podcast

Our Podcast on Spotify

Our Podcast on Apple

4 Comments
Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
A weekly podcast where hosts Matthew Rosenberg, Ethan S. Parker, and Griffin Sheridan talk to guests from around the world of comic books. It's fun. It's short. Why not give it a listen?