Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
I’m not even sure which planet I’m on!
1
0:00
-33:20

I’m not even sure which planet I’m on!

Chapter 199: IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode one hundred nine | Jim Zub, part one
1

WELCOME BACK TO IDEAS DON’T BLEED!

This week, we’re joined by Jim Zub (Skullkickers / Dungeons & Dragons) as we discuss his comics origins, opening doors for other comics creators, his new Titan Comics series Conan the Barbarian: Battle of the Black Stone, and more!

IDB is an all-new weekly podcast presented by Ashcan Press and featuring Matthew Rosenberg, the Supple Boiz, and wonderful guests from the world of comic books!

Our theme song is “Where’s the Poison” by Summer People.

Enjoy!

Hello again!

We’re back for another podcast and this time we’re joined by the mighty Jim Zub! In addition to writing things like SKULLKICKERS, WAYWARD, GLITTERBOMB, AVENGERS: NO SURRENDER, THUNDERBOLTS, DUNGEONS & DRAGONS, he has been running the CONAN show for a while now. If you like seeing people get stabbed and chopped up, and I’m sure that you do, there may be no finer comic to be reading right now.

One of the reasons I was excited to chat with Jim was because of the vast wealth of knowledge and analysis he offers up, for free, to aspiring (and even professional) comic creators. He offers just a taste of that here, but if you’ve ever wondered about the real nitty gritty of how comics are made I can’t stress how much I studied his posts when I was coming up. You can read the archive on his site right here.

And for more info and updates on all things Zub, you should check out his well named newsletter-

Hope you enjoy the episode.

As I mentioned, I won’t be going to NYCC this week. But I made this neat little graphic to help you find me.

I’ll be the one floating in the reservoir at night.

But just because I’m not in the building doesn’t mean you shouldn’t go to the Javits Center. That’s just common sense. (Joking!) In fact you should definitely go and visit all the awesome comic creators in Artist Alley, including so many of my collaborators-

  • WHAT’S THE FURTHEST PLACE FROM HERE? / 4 KIDS WALK INTO A BANK partner Tyler Boss is at table I-11. He’s going to have books, some 7”s, and even some pages for sale for cheap because he is sick of having them in his house.

  • MULTIPLE MAN and (TOP SECRET PROJECT) partner Andy MacDonald is at B-33.

  • WHAT’S THE FURTHEST PLACE FROM HERE? / JOKER PUZZLEBOX artist Josh Hixson is at G-07.

  • WHAT’S THE FURTHEST PLACE FROM HERE? / JOKER PUZZLEBOX artist Ricardo López Ortiz is at I-11.

  • WHAT’S THE FURTHEST PLACE FROM HERE? artist Sweeney Boo is at H-35.

  • 12 REASONS TO DIE artist Joelle Jones is at F-30.

  • 12 REASONS TO DIE artist Tim Seeley is at J-27.

  • AMAZING SPIDER-MAN artist Federico Vicentini is at G-11.

  • ARCHIE MEETS B-52’s artist Dan Parent is at B-14.

  • THE ARCHIES artist Joe Eisma is at J-03.

  • THE ARCHIES co-writer Alex Segura is at L-10.

  • BATMAN BLACK & WHITE artist Matteo Scalera is at D-21.

  • DETECTIVE COMICS artist Fernando Blanco is at G-02.

  • DC VS. VAMPIRES artist Simone Di Meo is at H-09.

  • ELEKTRA: BLACK, WHITE, & BLOOD collaborator Alberto Alburquerque is at K-03.

  • GRIFTER artist Ryan Benjamin is at J-19.

  • JOKER: PUZZLEBOX artist Freddie Williams II is at F-20.

  • KINGPIN artist Hayden Sherman is at H-41.

  • KINGPIN artist Marc Laming is at D-43.

  • MARVEL KNIGHTS 20th co-writer Donny Cates is at D-45.

  • SECRET WARS JOURNAL artist Luca Pizzari is at A-36.

  • STAR WARS: JEDI FALLEN ORDER artist Paolo Villanelli is at L-36.

  • THUNDERBOLTS artist Juan Ferreyra is at E-03.

  • UNCANNY X-MEN artist Mahmud Asrar is at D-24.

  • UNCANNY X-MEN & lots more colorist Rachelle Rosenberg is at J-16.

  • UNCANNY X-MEN cover artist Whilce Portacio is at J-28.

  • WOLVERINE: BLACK, WHITE, & BLOOD artist Joshua Cassara is at G-31.

Phew. I probably missed a bunch, but you get the point. Go. Have fun.

Over on the Tube©, we’ve put up Part II of our chat with

. Go watch-listen and make sure to preorder G.I. JOE #1.


That’s it for me.

Stay safe. Take care of each other. If someone wants to buy me the Whilce Portacio covers he did for my UNCANNY X-MEN run I wouldn’t be mad.

-Matthew Rosenberg

NYC 10/15/24

Our Webstore

Our Instagram

Our Youtube

Our Twitter

Our Facebook

Our Podcast

Our Podcast on Spotify

Our Podcast on Apple

Share Ashcan Press Comics Corporation

Discussion about this podcast

Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
A weekly podcast where hosts Matthew Rosenberg, Ethan S. Parker, and Griffin Sheridan talk to guests from around the world of comic books. It's fun. It's short. Why not give it a listen?