Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode sixty-three | Torunn Grønbekk, part one
2
0:00
-32:38

IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode sixty-three | Torunn Grønbekk, part one

Chapter 161: I have no need for a protocol droid!
2
Transcript

No transcript...

WELCOME BACK TO IDEAS DON’T BLEED!

This week, we’re joined by Torunn Grønbekk (Thor / Red Sonja) as we discuss her comics origins, her favorite things about America, taking over Carnage at Marvel Comics, and more

IDB is an all-new weekly podcast presented by Ashcan Press and featuring Matthew Rosenberg, the Supple Boiz, and wonderful guests from the world of comic books!

Our theme song is “Where’s the Poison” by Summer People.

Enjoy!

Hey there.

Hope you are having a good start to your week.

As for me, I think this is the year I’ve decided turkey kind of sucks. Not as a walking around animal. I think they are kind of great for that. Just as a food. I got me to thinking about tens of thousands (hundreds of thousands?) of people all sitting down to eat a meal we all kind of agree isn’t that great. Tradition is a weird thing. Obviously there is great power in tradition, strength derived through shared history, comfort in ritual. But when you remove all of that, and you find yourself eating dry poultry to celebrate… honestly hard to say what… the negative aspects of tradition really come into sharp focus.

This really made me think about all of the things in my life that are done as a ritual that has overtime lost all meaning. It starts to be everywhere you look, when you look for it. If the last week gave me anything it was the resolve to approach things on their own merit, not from some sense of tradition.

Oh, and stuffing. I had a lot of stuffing. Stuffing still rules.


Our guest this week is my good buddy Torunn Grønbekk. She is the writer of a ton of great comics and truly one of my favorite people to sit around a dinner table and trade stories with. She is also our first guest to have a letter in their name that I don’t know what its called. Anyway, I am hopeful some of what I love about talking with her came across in this episode. But even if I failed completely and it didn’t, you should be reading all her books and signing up for her excellent and BRAND NEW Substack newsletter-

Honestly it would be worth it alone for the wildlife camera footage she is hopefully going to regularly share. But even if she doesn’t, one of comics most fun new voices is going to be talking about her work and you should be listening. But also, tell her to share more footage.


That’s about it for me.

Stay safe. Take care of each other. Stuffing is a really lazy word, isn’t it?

-Matthew Rosenberg

NYC 11/27/23

Share Ashcan Press Comics Corporation

Our Webstore

All The Good Links!

2 Comments
Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
A weekly podcast where hosts Matthew Rosenberg, Ethan S. Parker, and Griffin Sheridan talk to guests from around the world of comic books. It's fun. It's short. Why not give it a listen?