Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
Well, if there’s a bright center to the universe…
1
0:00
-52:47

Well, if there’s a bright center to the universe…

Chapter 200: IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode one hundred ten | Jim Zub, part two
1

WELCOME BACK TO IDEAS DON’T BLEED!

This week, we’re joined once again by Jim Zub (Skullkickers / Dungeons & Dragons) as we discuss his comics origins, opening doors for other comics creators, his new Titan Comics series Conan the Barbarian: Battle of the Black Stone, and more!

IDB is an all-new weekly podcast presented by Ashcan Press and featuring Matthew Rosenberg, Ethan S. Parker, the ghost of Griffin Sheridan, and wonderful guests from the world of comic books!

Our theme song is “Where’s the Poison” by Summer People.

Enjoy!

HEY!

Look at that! Our 200th newsletter! That’s cool. It’s actually a little more than that if you count the stuff behind the paywall, but you get the idea. So I had big plans for what to do for our 200th, but as they say, “Man plans, NYCC laughs.” Big plans paused as I recover from the most grueling week in comics, and I barely did anything.

In the meantime, I’m excited to have Jim Zub back this week to discuss CONAN, SKULLKICKERS, and all that good stuff. And if we didn’t give you enough Jim, which we very much might not have, you can always help yourself to more-

Sign up for that good stuff.

Over at Kickstarter it’s the final week(ish) for a very cool project that the comics industry is in dire need of. Headed by Tiffany Babb, THE COMICS COURIER aims to bring smart (and fun) comics criticism back to print. (Yes, I know THE COMICS JOURNAL still exists. This is different. Leave me alone.) Chock full of great voices in comics crit like Douglas Wolk, Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou, Liam McGuire, Lisa and Brad Gullickson, and more, this is a real fun project but more than that, it feels vital.

As you can see, they’ve already crushed their goal. So me sharing this isn’t so much about helping them make sure it happens, it’s about helping make sure YOU get it. Comics deserves good criticism. Comics needs good criticism. But even moreso, you deserve and need good comics criticism in your life.

Support THE COMICS COURIER!

Over on Youtube this week we’re continuing to post our glorious back catalog of kinda glorious podcasts. This week is Part I of our interview with the mighty Christopher Sebela. Is Chris one of my favorite people in the world? Yes. Is that why I had him on the show? Maybe. Do I also think he may be the best “High Concept Writer” working in comics today? Definitely. I am not a jealous person and when my peers make great things I tend to just be excited that there are more great things in the world. But almost every book Chris has ever written has, at it’s core, an idea that is so clever and fun that I get angry that he thought of it first. It’s okay. It keeps our friendship steamy and at the end I get another cool book for my shelf.

Give it a listen. Like and subscribe so more folks can discover what we do. And if you haven’t read them, make sure to CROWDED, HIGH CRIMES, HEARTTHROB, SHANGHAI RED, HOUSE AMOK, TEST, SHORT ORDER CROOKS, DEAD DUDES, and more. And over on his website you can get these books from him and even grab his amazing zines like I LIVED IN A CLOWN MOTEL and POOL DISASTER. You can’t afford NOT to buy them.

Buy Some Sebela Books!

…Because you deserve good things.


That’s it for me.

Stay safe. Take care of each other. Remind me next year that NYCC makes me too sleepy.

-Matthew Rosenberg

NYC 10/22/24

Our Webstore

Our Instagram

Our Youtube

Our Twitter

Our Facebook

Our Podcast

Our Podcast on Spotify

Our Podcast on Apple

Share Ashcan Press Comics Corporation

Discussion about this podcast

Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
A weekly podcast where hosts Matthew Rosenberg, Ethan S. Parker, and Griffin Sheridan talk to guests from around the world of comic books. It's fun. It's short. Why not give it a listen?