Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode three | Gerry Duggan, part one
0:00
-31:12

IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode three | Gerry Duggan, part one

Chapter 61: There goes another one!

WELCOME BACK TO IDEAS DON’T BLEED!

This week, we’re joined by Gerry Duggan (Deadpool / X-Men / Analog) as we discuss his career, his new photo book on Kickstarter Timing/Luck, and his upcoming comics projects!

Check out and support the Kickstarter HERE!

IDB is an all-new weekly podcast presented by Ashcan Press and featuring Matthew Rosenberg, the Supple Boiz, and wonderful guests from the world of comic books!

Our theme song is “Where’s the Poison” by Summer People

Enjoy!

A few years ago I was taking the downtown A train late one night with Gerry Duggan for some reason or another. And, as often happens, a person started being uncool on the train. They had been acting strangely and yelling at passengers at random for a few stops when suddenly they went off. Screaming, pushing, throwing things, snarling, spitting. People began to flee. And as I turned to Gerry to tell him we should switch cars, I found him with his camera in hand, snapping photos of everyone involved, a look of pure delight on his face. As the car began to empty around us I felt it was my duty, as a native New Yorker, to really explain to Gerry that we were about to be in a bad situation. I quietly stated what I thought was becoming obvious.

“Gerry, we need to go. This is when people get stabbed.”

And Gerry turned away from his camera’s display for a second to look me in the eye and say my favorite thing.

“Matthew, this is when the good stuff happens.”

Nobody got stabbed. Gerry got some amazing photos. And none of them were even good enough to make it into his beautiful new book. But I was glad I was there to watch him work. I’m glad the book exists. And I’m glad we got to talk about it for you all to hear.


Stay safe. Take care of each other. Don’t leave before the good stuff happens.

-Matthew Rosenberg

NYC 10/3/22

0 Comments
Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
A weekly podcast where hosts Matthew Rosenberg, Ethan S. Parker, and Griffin Sheridan talk to guests from around the world of comic books. It's fun. It's short. Why not give it a listen?