Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode eighty-nine | Jordan Thomas, part one
2
0:00
-32:21

IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode eighty-nine | Jordan Thomas, part one

Chapter 174: Take this away!
2

WELCOME BACK TO IDEAS DON’T BLEED!

This week, we’re joined by Jordan Thomas (Weird Work / The Man From Maybe) as we discuss his comics origins, balancing the grounded and the surreal, his new Mad Cave series Mugshots, and more!

IDB is an all-new weekly podcast presented by Ashcan Press and featuring Matthew Rosenberg, the Supple Boiz, and wonderful guests from the world of comic books!

Our theme song is “Where’s the Poison” by Summer People.

Enjoy!

Hello.

Thanks for checking back in with us again. It’s been an absolutely brutal month here, and I don’t often like to go into the personal stuff on here, so suffice to say more newsletters are coming and cool stuff is happening behind the scenes. Promise.

But this nightmare hellscape of a month did have me laying in bed last night taking account of all the things I am truly thankful for. I don’t say this enough, but all of us at ASHCAN PRESS COMICS CORPORATION and our subsidiary IDEAS DON’T BLEED INDUSTRIES really appreciate it. This podcast and newsletter continues to grow every week still, and a lot of that has to do with all of you out there sharing it with friends and people you like to trick into doing things. So thank you.

Because I thanked you for something now I can ask a little favor. That’s how it works. If you listen to the podcast on Apple Podcasts or Spotify or something like that, would you be so kind as to give us a little review? Just throw down some stars if you don’t have anything to say. I have never asked for this, I don’t think, for a simple reason. It feels humiliating and stupid. But I was told it’s wildly important for new people to continuing to find us. Hell, you can do it even if you don’t listen on those (or any) platforms. >End grovel.<


I was excited about this episode because I had been reading Jordan’s work for a bit. I got sucked in because he was making books with Shaky Kane, who is a true genius and you should all be reading his stuff. But what struck me about it was the thought and heart in the work, under all the madness. If you missed WEIRD WORK and THE MAN FROM MAYBE they are very much worth your time. WEIRD WORK is out in trade paperback now and THE MAN FROM MAYBE comes out this week! Serendipity.

But a few weeks ago I got a copy of Jordan’s new series MUGSHOTS and was absolutely blown away. When you read as many comics as I do, it’s a rare moment that a comic just knocks you on your ass from out of nowhere. The writing, the art, the characters, the style, all of it easily made for one of my favorite comics of the last few years. I became an instant fan for life so I knew I had to chat with him on here. I hope you enjoy our conversation as much as I did.

But please, for the love of comics, go read MUGHSOTS #1. You owe it to yourself.


That’s it for me.

Stay safe. Take care of each other. It’s good for you to grovel sometimes… maybe?

-Matthew Rosenberg

NYC 5/27/24

Share Ashcan Press Comics Corporation

Our Webstore

All The Good Links!

2 Comments
Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
A weekly podcast where hosts Matthew Rosenberg, Ethan S. Parker, and Griffin Sheridan talk to guests from around the world of comic books. It's fun. It's short. Why not give it a listen?