Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode one | Kelly Thompson, part one
17
0:00
-29:12

IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode one | Kelly Thompson, part one

Chapter 56: Secret Mission?
17

WELCOME TO IDEAS DON’T BLEED!

This is the inaugural episode of the podcast, which is presented by Ashcan Press and features Matthew Rosenberg, the Supple Boiz, and wonderful weekly guests from the world of comic books!

To kick things off, we are joined by comic book writer Kelly Thompson (Black Widow / Captain Marvel / Amazing Spider-Man). We’re diving into her new series BLACK CLOAK, which you can read the start of right now, for free!

Check it out along with her other new creator owned comics on her excellent newsletter HERE.

Our theme song is “Where’s the Poison” by Summer People

Enjoy!

Hi there.

A few brief notes on what this is since I didn’t explain it much beforehand. This is the first of what will now become a weekly release of our brand new Podcast, over-dramatically entitled IDEAS DON’T BLEED. I had a few different goals with all this and I am genuinely excited for people to check it out.

Firstly, I always want to keep this newsletter fun and interesting. And what better way than inviting my friends to be fun and interesting so I don’t have to? Secondly, I do get very self conscious of constantly writing about and promoting my own work. I know that’s part of the job, but that doesn’t mean I am comfortable with it. So this allows me to use this platform to shine the spotlight on some creators and some work that I really care about. And lastly, and maybe contradictorily, I am constantly trying to move out of my comfort zone here. I think that’s important for this whole project to be honest, I think it’s important for my work, and maybe even my mental well being. So, as much as I don’t love being in front of the proverbial camera or leading the discussion, I want to try and embrace it and see where that takes me. And I’m excited to invite you all along for the ride.

With all that in mind, I went out and recruited two of the best people working in the comics / podcasting field today to help make sure this doesn’t crash from go. Ethan S. Parker and Griffin Sheridan are collectively known by the disgusting nickname The Supple Boiz and have been making their own podcasts, as well as running this kind of stuff for our friends Ryan Stegman and Kids Love Chains for a while. I couldn’t ask for better co-pilots on this. After you’ve listened here make sure to go check out their excellent podcast.


As for settling on what the exact content of said podcast should be, that was a little more complicated. I’m not sure how many times someone should have to deal with me saying “ummm…” over and over in their headphones in a day, but I am a fan of more deep dive podcasts, so we had a bit of a tug of war. Where we landed is splitting the difference and making each interview run about an hour so we can have a good conversation but we’re going to be chopping it up into bite size thirty minute chunks to make it easier to digest.

Even with the excellent guidance of the Supple Boiz we’re still learning as we go. So if you notice any annoying ticks or weird things, don’t worry, we’re probably painfully aware of them and we’ll be doing our best to fix them. But if you have any suggestions of who you’d like to hear on the show, or things you’d like us to focus on, hit us up in the comments. We’d love to hear from you.


And special thanks to one of my favorite writers and dearest friends, Kelly Thompson, for enthusiastically agreeing to be our guinea pig on this. She is as good a sport as she is a writer. Come back next week for Part II of our discussion.


Stay safe. Take care of each other. Practice saying “umm” less when you speak. I am.

-Matthew Rosenberg

NYC 9/19/22

17 Comments
Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
A weekly podcast where hosts Matthew Rosenberg, Ethan S. Parker, and Griffin Sheridan talk to guests from around the world of comic books. It's fun. It's short. Why not give it a listen?