Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode twenty-nine | Declan Shalvey, part one
1
0:00
-1:05:03

IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode twenty-nine | Declan Shalvey, part one

Chapter 106: I’ve got to rest before I fall apart!
1

WELCOME BACK TO IDEAS DON’T BLEED!

This week, we’re joined by Declan Shalvey (Moon Knight / Time Before Time) as we discuss his career, his transition into writing comics, and his brand new Image Comics series Old Dog!

IDB is an all-new weekly podcast presented by Ashcan Press and featuring Matthew Rosenberg, the Supple Boiz, and wonderful guests from the world of comic books!

Our theme song is “Where’s the Poison” by Summer People.

Enjoy!


Hello there!

Once again time for another of these damn podcasts with me and the S&P 500’s. This is one of the very special ones where we rebroadcast one of our very fun, but slightly more chaotic livestreams in smaller, easier to digest, podcast form. And our lovely guest is the multi-talented Declan Shalvey. If you’re not reading his excellent series TIME BEFORE TIME and OLD DOG you’re really doing things wrong. He is also the incoming writer on a little thing called ALIEN coming your way soon.

In addition to being a fantastic artist and writer and a lovely podcast guest, Declan also has is own very good newsletter that you all should be subscribing too.

Go give him a follow.


Following up on our conversation in the podcast about things that get us inspired creatively, I have decided to start doing a bit more of a regular rundown on here of the art I consume that gets me excited to make stuff. Is this a good idea? I don’t know. But I actually read some other newsletters that do this and am always interested in what creators I like are liking. So expect that to start next week.

In the meantime, here is a very fun videogame that took up too much of my time a few weeks ago. I am including this because BANSHEES OF INISHERIN is maybe my favorite movie of last year and is something that really stays in my brain all the time, not because this is what I imagine Declan’s life to be like.

But I bet it is…

ARE WE ROWING?

That’s it for me. But see you in a few days for big comics update this week with some first looks at ART!!!! Get stoked.


Stay safe. Take care of each other. Don’t cut your fingers off.

-Matthew Rosenberg

NYC 3/3/23

Share Ashcan Press Comics Corporation

Our Webstore

Our Youtube

Our Podcast

Our Podcast on Spotify

Our Podcast on Apple

1 Comment
Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
A weekly podcast where hosts Matthew Rosenberg, Ethan S. Parker, and Griffin Sheridan talk to guests from around the world of comic books. It's fun. It's short. Why not give it a listen?