Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode eighty-three | Sean Lewis, part one
0:00
-34:59

IDEAS DON'T BLEED episode eighty-three | Sean Lewis, part one

Chapter 167: But that R2 Unit is in prime condition…
Transcript

No transcript...

WELCOME BACK TO IDEAS DON’T BLEED!

This week, we’re joined by Sean Lewis (King Spawn / Coyotes) as we discuss his comics origins, his background in theatre, his upcoming Image Comics series Bear Pirate Viking Queen, and more!

IDB is an all-new weekly podcast presented by Ashcan Press and featuring Matthew Rosenberg, the Supple Boiz, and wonderful guests from the world of comic books!

Our theme song is “Where’s the Poison” by Summer People.

Enjoy!

Hello again.

Hope your week is going well. Mine has been a bit crazy, but I will update you on that later on. In the meantime we have a very fun show this week. It’s a little different for me because our guest, the excellent Sean Lewis, is not really someone I knew. I have been a fan for a while, reading his books like COYOTES, THE FEW, THUMBS, SAINTS, and BLISS. And of course all the stuff he’s been doing in the SPAWN Universe. We’ve spoken on the internet a few times and exchanged pleasantries, but never hung out. But I was reading his recent western series with the brilliant Hayden Sherman- ABOVE SNAKES - and I was really just in love with it. So I figured I’d reach out and see if he wanted to chat.

And I’m glad we did. Sean sent me a copy of his newest book, BEAR PIRATE VIKING QUEEN, and this one is not to be missed. Just a truly gorgeous, mind-bending reading experience. It truly doesn’t feel like anything else on shelves these days and is well worth your money when it hits shelves May 1st. After reading it we dove into this chat, and it was just as enlightening as I’d hoped. I hope you find it so as well.

My good buddy Brian Level has a new book he’s working on with artist Kurt Belcher called THE UNSLEEPING EYE. I got a chance to read it this week and it is truly fucking weird. Just a strange, creepy, unnerving work of art. And I mean that in the best possible way.

Project image for The Unsleeping Eye #1

The good news for you is that it’s on Kickstarter right now with 4 days to go. So you too can get a chance to read this and be unsettled. And I think you should.

Kickstart The Unsleeping Eye!

And while we’re at it, subscribe to Brian’s newsletter. He is one of my favorite people to chat with in the world because he always brings so much compassion and such a unique insight to everything he does. He doesn’t post that much here yet, but maybe if a bunch of you sign up that will change.


Anyway, that’s it for me.

Stay safe. Take care of each other. Talking about a lot of books you all haven’t read yet this week, I guess.

-Matthew Rosenberg

CT 4/15/24

Share Ashcan Press Comics Corporation

Our Webstore

All The Good Links!

0 Comments
Ashcan Press Comics Corporation
IDEAS DON'T BLEED podcast
A weekly podcast where hosts Matthew Rosenberg, Ethan S. Parker, and Griffin Sheridan talk to guests from around the world of comic books. It's fun. It's short. Why not give it a listen?